The Current Dating World (Smh)

Posted: March 10, 2010 by Nell in Dating, Personal, Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

Yea Buddy! Somebody has to do it because I know some of you have been thinking about it lately. I’m 26 yrs old and I can honestly say that I’m at the point in my life where I’m ready to settle down with the right woman and work towards something. I had my fun, had my hay day, player stage and experienced all different types of women. I have the option(s) of reliving my player stage right now, but it’s becoming old news. I’m just keeping it 100 right now. I think it’s my newly gained wisdom and maturity talking to me. My issue is I’m ready to settle down, however I’m jaded with the “dating world.” Based on conversations with people as of late I’m not the only person who feels this way.

Check this out! I live in Atlanta, GA. I’m not gonna lie; it’s a jungle down here in the dating world. The biggest complaint that everyone down here has when it comes to dating is that everyone is dating each other. It’s like they’re playing duck duck goose with dating; goose! People are beginning to feel frustrated with the whole idea of dating and that’s understandable. I mean, you have to date numerous people in order to find your partner right? Wrong!

You ever notice how everybody is “single” but not really single? Yea they’re not in an exclusive relationship, but they have a partner(s) and more than likely that partner(s) is not willing to commit to them exclusively. In today’s terms, that person is their friend. But it’s odd because these are the same people who are single, but are quick to get upset if their “friend” sleeps with someone else. How is that your friend if you get upset when they sleep around? Reality check, that’s not your friend, that’s your partner and you just settled for being less so that you could at least have a part of that person in your life. Epic fail on your behalf! I can’t knock the other person though, if you knowingly let them get away with it, why wouldn’t they continue to do it?

People are not dating anymore, they’re having sex (nothing wrong with that.) But seriously, females are throwing it these days like Joe Montana without any effort and the male in me tells me to be happy about that, but it’s getting ugly out here in the dating world. There is a reason why things are crazy like this now; people have given up on relationships. But majority of these people who have given up are not even happy. They gave up on relationships because they were forced to. It amazes me that people claim to “love” being single, but they’re experiencing the same issues that comes along with being in relationships while being single playing the friend game.

If you follow my blog, you know that I’m Pro-relationships. I have some reasons that I will not discuss because they’re gonna be included in my book series. The main reason why I am Pro-relationships is because the number of single people are hurting the dating world more than helping. Singles used to be the minority so they had better options to choose a mate. But even though they were the minority, the benefit was you had a better chance of finding a mate because 1.) Many singles were interested in being in a relationship. 2.) It was less quantity when it came to prospects. You would think that having more options would be a positive, but it’s a negative because a great amount of people who are single are smoke screens. It’s so much quantity out in the singles dating world that it’s blocking the quality. I’m going to be honest, there are not many quality people who are single. But it’s obvious that single is the new “in” thing. Another reason is people are not dating people who they desire. Of course this is leaving off from my last blog post.

Who am I to write a blog about dating and not lend advice to those who are interested? Word of advice: If you’re going to get out in the dating world, at least know what you want and who you are. If you do not know what you want or who you are, your success will be unlikely. One other very important thing is making sure that you have your life together before going out there searching for a partner that has theirs together. People often search for partners that are out of their league. It’s cool to date up, but the possibilities are low. Am I referring you to date down and lower your standards? No, but what I am stating is that you should have yourself together completely before entering the dating world.That’s another blog within itself. It sounds simple, but as many of you know, knowledge is worthless if you don’t apply it.

I’mma keep hitting y’all over the head until it’s respected. I’m out!


Darnell R. Mckinnon

I created a NEW Facebook fan page yesterday. Be sure to become a fan to get updates about my book release and NEW blog post!

*CLICK HERE TO BECOME A FAN*

CLICK HERE TO PURCHASE THE E-BOOK COPY OF MY BOOK TUG OF CONFLICT

Comments
  1. Erica T says:

    The thing about “relationships” nowadays is people (both men and women) often settle because they are content with what they have. But it is so important to know youself 100% before you can honestly know what it is that you want in your mate. So often people say give “50/50” but I am a strong believer in knowing that in order to have something real each person much bring 100% to the table. If not you only giving “half” of yourself. But if you are the type who doesn’t want to give 100, then you are not someone who is looking for the “one” but you looking for the “right now.” Nice blog D… Can’t wait for the book!

  2. Michelle R. says:

    Heyyyyyy. I was just having a convo with my friend about this same topic. Im happy you touched on it. I really enjoy it. Great job Nell

  3. Keshia says:

    Love the blog!!!! Crazy because I have been having this conversation with many of my friends today and for you to touch on it is defentily conformation. I just feel that everyone wants their cake and they want to eat it too. People want that secure relationship or partner but they also want the freesom to roam with no attachments. The dating world out here is getting ridiculous.

  4. Keshia says:

    Love the blog!!!! Crazy because I have been having this conversation with many of my friends today and for you to touch on it is definitely confirmation. I just feel that everyone wants their cake and they want to eat it too. People want that security relationship or partner but they also want the freedom to roam with no attachments. The dating world out here is getting ridiculous.

  5. Darius says:

    Homie I like this. I be hyppin my broads on this. But you know women is hard headed. Im go pass this around.

  6. DEV says:

    Very nice read!! Relationships are hard to come by and even harder to retain. Everyone admits to being in love, at least once in their life. But how many times during or after a relationship will a person admit to being selfish, uncompromising, or greedy? A person’s lack of fulfillment will in time alter the need for a relationship.

  7. Darnell R. Mckinnon says:

    I appreciate your feedback Dev. I think it’s all about finding the person that compliments you best, meaning someone who sees eye to eye with you and understands you.

Leave a Reply

