Living Past Regrets And Mistakes

Posted: April 23, 2009 by Nell in Uncategorized
Tags:

living-with-regrets-and-mistakes1

I decided to write about mistakes and regrets. We all have made mistakes in our lives and many people like to use the popular statement “I don’t regret anything because everything bad has taught me something”. But can we really dispose of our regrets that easy?

Mistakes

When making mistakes do you place more blame on yourself for making the mistake or do you take it as a lesson learned? Many times we make mistakes in life and we over look the learned lessons that may come from the mistakes that were committed. I remember when I was a kid, I played little league baseball. I played second base all throughout my baseball career (4yrs of little league). When I first started playing, I never knew how to slide into a base. I kept making the same mistake when trying to slide which always led to my failure in attempting a successful slide. I constantly ignored the lesson from mistakes that I was making and constantly got down on myself for making the mistake. I had a talk with my baseball coach oneday and he told me to learn from the mistake that I was making and watch my other teammates slide as well in order to see what I was doing wrong. I took his advice and realized that I was not bending my knee correctly when sliding. I made the correction and I finally was able to slide. A lot of us make mistakes in life but if we start to pay more attention to the lesson that can be learned from the mistakes than focusing on the mistake itself, it will make correcting the mistake much easier.

Regrets

You learn from regrets the same way that you learn from mistakes. The way to do so is to pay more attention to what you can learn from the regret than the regret itself. It commonly said that everything happens for a reason. That statement is very true. But in order to live with a regret you have to fix your mental and atleast work towards correcting the mistakes that were made that led to the regret, if possible.


Darnell R. Mckinnon

Comments
  1. Tarrah says:

    So very true. Everyone makes mistakes, but its how you handle those mistakes that lead to progression. Turning negatives into positives is a part of learning, growing, and most importantly, progressing. Dwelling on the negative outcome of a mistake keeps you at a stand still. You are only able to move forward when you accept your mistakes and turn them into lessons learned.

    Thanks for your insight and keep up the good work!

  2. Jennifer says:

    Very True

    I think everyone has dealt with regret and mistakes and I just feel if you do not learn from the mistakes and keep doing the same, then you have not learned anything.. But very good blog, keep up the work!

  3. Ms Kaye says:

    wow this is not only true its so deep….keep up the great work

Leave a Reply

